Ten Little-Known Facts About the Kama Sutra

  1. Kama=the acquisition of sensual pleasure and Sutra= the guidelines of yoga, the word itself means thread in Sanskrit.
  2. Kama Sutrais NOT a  tantric text.
  3. Kama Sutra refers to the original text, Original Kama Sutra of Vatsyayana, based on the science of kama.
  4. Vatsyayana’s purpose is to set kama (enjoyment of the senses) in context. The instruction is more for the mind than for the body.
  5. Three virtues are proposed in this order, highest to lowest:  1) virtue, 2) a secure life, and 3) pleasure.
  6. Kama sutra instruction only lists 8 basic sexual positions with 8 variations, often referred to as the 64 arts.
  7. Chapters include:
  • Sexual Dimensions of a Woman
  • Of The Embrace
  • On Kissing
  • Of The Auparishtaka Or Mouth Congress
  • On Certain Forms of Marriage
  1.   One Part, On the Means of Attracting Others to One’s Self, includes advice on “personal adornment” and “exciting desire.”
  2. The Original Kama Sutra translation was by Sir Richard Burton in 1883.
  3. Flowers, fragrant perfumes and drinking are often mentioned in the text.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s